You have no items in your shopping bag.

The Complete 1978 Radio Broadcasts (15CD Box Set)


The Complete 1978 Radio Broadcasts (15CD Box Set)

by Bruce Springsteen & The E-Street Band

Usually dispatched
within 24 hours


• 15 CDs        • Over 200 tracks     

• 24 page full colour booklet with rare photos and detailed liner notes

• The entire original KMET, WMMS, WNEW, KSAN and over twenty more, FM radio broadcasts from explosive 1978 live performances at The Roxy Theater on July 7, The Agora Balroom on August 9, The Capitol Theater on September 19, The Fox Theater on September 30 and The Winterland Ballroom on December 15.

• Professionally re-mastered with background liners and rare archival photos.

By the time Darkness On The Edge Of Town was released in June 1978, Bruce Springsteen was firmly established as America’s most exhilarating rock performer. He and the E Street Band relentlessly toured the country from May of that year until January 1st 1979, playing 115 intense shows that have become the stuff of legend. This incendiary new 15-disc set gathers five exceptional performances that were broadcast on FM radio between July and December, and finds the Boss at the peak of his powers, tackling a huge range of material with unstinting energy and passion. Presented with copious background notes and images, it’s an essential addition to any serious Springsteen collection.

Intro / ‘No private parties’Rave OnBadlandsSpirit In The NightDarkness On The Edge Of TownCandy’s RoomFor YouPoint BlankThe Promised Land10.  Prove It All Night
11.  Intro / ‘Alice In Wonderland’
12.  Racing In The Street
13.  Thunder Road
14.  Outro / ‘Incredible performance’

Paradise By The ‘C’FireAdam Raised A CainMonaShe’s The OneGrowin’ UpIt’s Hard To Be A Saint In The CityBackstreetsHeartbreak Hotel10.  Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)

1.  Independence Day (solo piano)
2.  Born To Run
3.  Because The Night
4.  Raise Your Hand
5.  Radio comments / ‘Incredible’
6.  Twist & Shout

Broadcast on KMET-FM, this outstanding show finds the Boss on intense form near the outset of the Darkness Tour. The remarkable setlist includes live premieres of Point Blank, Raise Your Hand and Independence Day (performed solo on piano for the only time on the tour), as well as rock’n’roll standards such as Twist & Shout, Rave On and Heartbreak Hotel.  

 Live at The Agora Ballroom, Cleveland OH 9th August 1978

IntroSummertime BluesBadlandsSpirit In The NightDarkness On The Edge Of TownFactoryThe Promised LandProve It All NightRacing In The Street > Thunder RoadJungleland

IntroParadise By The CFireSherry DarlingNot Fade AwayGloria > She’s The OneGrowin’ UpBackstreetsRosalita (Come Out Tonight)

Intro4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)Born To RunBecause The NightRaise Your HandTwist And Shout

Broadcast on WMMS-FM, this free gig commemorated the station’s change of name from WHK-FM, and was simultaneously transmitted on other stations to an estimated total audience of three million. Capturing the Boss and his cohorts at the top of their game and in outstanding fidelity, it’s one of the very best surviving shows from 1978.  

Live at The Capitol Theater, Passiac NJ 19th September 1978

1. Intro
2. Badlands
3. Streets Of Fire
4. Spirit In The Night
5. Darkness On The Edge Of Town
6. Independence Day
7. The Promised Land
8. Prove It All Night
9. Racing In The Street
10. Thunder Road
11. Meeting Across The River
12. Jungleland

1. Kitty's Back
2. Fire
3. Candy's Room
4. Because The Night
5. Point Blank
6. Not Fade Away
7. She's The One
8. Backstreets
9. Rosalita
10. Sandy

1. Born To Run
2. 10th Avenue Freeze-Out
3. Detroit Medley
4. Raise Your Hand

With the Boss’s energy peaking on his home turf, this remarkable performance was broadcast on WNEW-FM (and others). Widely regarded as a highlight of the Boss’s long career, it features what many consider his finest ever renditions of Racing In The Street and Thunder Road, among many others.   

Live at The Fox Theater, Atlanta GA 30th September 1978

Good Rockin’ TonightBadlandsSpirit In The NightDarkness On The Edge Of TownIndependence DayThe Promised LandProve It All NightRacing In The StreetThunder RoadJungleland

Santa Claus Is Comin’ To TownNight TrainFireCandy’s RoomBecause The NightPoint BlankNot Fade Away / Gloria / She’s The OneBackstreets / Sad Eyes

Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)Born To RunTenth Avenue Freeze-OutDetroit MedleyRaise Your Hand

Simulcast by around twenty FM stations in the southeastern US, this show was originally scheduled for July 23rd, but postponed due to the Boss coming down with a throat infection. Presented in its entirety here, it finds him tearing through many of his best-loved songs (including stand-out renditions of Independence Day and Backstreets), as well his only known performance of James Brown's Night Train, in front of a wildly appreciative audience of almost 4000.  

Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco, CA 15th December 1978

1. Badlands2. Streets Of Fire3. Spirit In The Night4. Darkness On The Edge Of Town Factory5. The Promised Land6. Prove It All Night7. Racing In The Streets8. Thunder Road9. Jungleland

1. Backstreets2. The Ties That Bind3. Santa Story4. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
5. The Fever6. Fire7. Candy’s Room8. Because The Night9. Point Blank10. Mona / Preacher’s Daughter
11. She’s The One

1. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
2. Born to Run3. Detroit Medley4. 10th Avenue Freeze-Out
5. Raise Your Hand
6. Quarter to Three

Regarded by connoisseurs as perhaps the finest show of the Boss’s entire career, this exceptional performance was broadcast on KSAN-FM, whose DJ Norm Winer promises at the outset: “Tonight you’re gonna hear the concert of your life!” Typifying the explosive momentum Springsteen had generated in preceding months, the set boasts an energy and charisma that few artists have ever rivaled.

Free UK post