You have no items in your shopping bag.

Wire Less (CD)


Wire Less (CD)

by The Blues Band

Usually dispatched
within 24 hours


• If you are looking for talent over technology, then here it is: An amazing totally acoustic ‘live’ set by
The Blues Band, Paul Jones, Tom McGuinness, Dave Kelly, Gary Fletcher and Rob Townsend, stripping
the Blues right back to basics.
• Played in a ground-breaking venue, famed for its acoustics, previously the domain of the world’s top
Classical performers, the Snape Maltings at Aldburgh on Suffolk’s wild sea coast, an 850 seat auditorium
built in 1948 by composer Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) with his close friend, singer Peter Pears. The
reserved Snape Maltings insisted on ‘no amplification’. No problem! The Blues Band’s vast experience
and repertoire came to the fore - and despite the absence of Bartok, Beethoven or Bach, the gig sold
• Terrific tracks - real gems from the overlooked corners of blues history - such as Memphis Minnie’s
‘Frankie Jean’, Bobby Bland’s ‘I’m Not Ashamed to Sing the Blues’, the Mississippi Sheiks’ ‘Sittin’ On Top
Of The World’, plus bonus tracks and 4 original compositions by Tom, Paul, Gary and Dave.
• Detailed notes by writer Roy Bainton (who was there). Crystal clear, superbly mixed acoustic recording
quality - with an exciting ‘live’ ambience complimenting the mix of what was truly a memorable
occasion. An innovative ‘first’ for Snape Maltings, an inspired milestone for The Blues Band, and an
unforgettable experience for the packed audience.
• Expertly remastered by Jon Astley (who has worked on recordings by the Who, Led Zeppelin, George
Harrison and many others). Superb sound – the best in the business!

1. San Francisco Bay Blues
2. T.Nicey Mama
3. Sittin’ On Top Of The World
4. Room And Board
5. D-Day Blues
6. I Can’t Stand The Rain
7. Withering The Picks
8. Sweet Temptation
9. Stealin’ Stealin’
10. Stranger Blues
11. Jitterbug Swing
12. Told No Lies
13. Alimony Blues
14. Key To The Highway
15. Frankie Jean
16. I’m Not Ashamed To
Sing The Blues
17. They’re Crazy About Me
18. Too Young To Know
Originally released as (UK)
BGO Records BGOCD494,
Bonus Tracks:
(To be confirmed)

Free UK Post