You have no items in your shopping bag.

Les Haricots Sont Pas Salés 1987-1991 (4LP Box, A3 poster)


Les Haricots Sont Pas Salés 1987-1991 (4LP Box, A3 poster)

by Pere Ubu

Usually dispatched
within 24 hours


Third, and final, box set includes ‘The Tenement Year’ (1988), ‘Cloudland’ (1989), ‘Worlds In Collison’ (1991) and ‘Lost Album’ (1989). 

With Pere Ubu on hiatus since 1982’s excellent ‘Song Of The Bailing Man’, David Thomas had recorded a muchpraisedsolo album and the band had now signed to a major label. In a period of rampant world commercialism, what would happennext? Another crucial era for the band unraveled, Pere Ubu’s journey charted new undulating territory and so began a three-albumescapade that retooled our understanding of what pop music is. The third in the four-part boxed set series, ‘Les Haricots Sont Pas Salé1987-1991’ sits between ‘The Architecture Of Language 1979-1982’ and ‘Drive, He Said 1994-2002’. “Solid as the band can be, it'salso likely to dissolve songs from the bottom up.

For all Pere Ubu's uncertainty, the band isn't arbitrary; its music has the off-the-wallunity of a Marx Brothers routine,” said Jon Pareles of The New York Times on ‘The Tenement Year’. One year later and things werefurther obscured with ‘Cloudland’ when they released “their industrial-strength equivalent of a class Beach Boys album from musiciansmore familiar with factories than surf.” (Greg Kot, Chicago Sun Times). Then, in 1991, ‘Worlds In Collision’ became “the mostatmospheric, carefully sculpted recording in the band's 13-album catalog.” (Tom Moon, Spin). Here we have Pere Ubu between 1987and 1991 with three phenomenal pop albums, together with the ‘The Lost Album’, an 11-track record of demos that sounds like they’d loosened the nut and bolts of the genre even further. Four of these tracks, ‘Around The Fire’,’ Down By The River’, ‘Like A RollingStone’ and ‘Invisible Man’ were recorded as demos for the album originally designed to follow ‘Cloudland’. Referred to by the band as‘The Lost Album’ they are now joined with songs from ‘Cloudland’ that wouldn’t fit on the original vinyl release due to the lengthlimitations of vinyl. The record also includes a tribute to Van Dyke Parks ‘Wine Dark Sparks’ and ‘Bang The Drum’ inspired by a VanDyke Parks song. Genius. Remastered by Paul Hamann at Suma Studio in February 2017 and designed by John Thompson, 

TrackListing: Disc 1 – The Tenement Year: 1 Something's Gotta Give 2 George Had A Hat 3 Talk To Me 4 Busman's Honeymoon 5 SayGoodbye 6 Universal Vibration 7 Miss You 8 Dream The Moon 9 Rhythm King 10 The Hollow Earth 11 We Have The Technology….Disc 2 – Cloudland: 1 Breath 2 Race The Sun 3 Cry 4 Why Go It Alone? 5 Waiting For Ma 6 Ice Cream Truck 7 Bus Called Happiness8 Love Love Love 9 Lost Nation Road 10 Nevada! 11 Flat 12 The Waltz 13 Pushin 14 Monday Night… Disc 3 – Worlds In Collision: 1Oh Catherine 2 I Hear They Smoke The Barbecue 3 Turpentine! 4 Goodnite Irene 5 Mirror Man 6 Don't Look Back 7 Worlds In Collision8 Life of Riley 9 Over The Moon 10 Cry Cry Cry 11 Playback 12 Nobody Knows 13 Winter In The Firelands…. Disc 4 – The LostAlbum: 1 Down By The River 2 Around The Fire 3 Like A Rolling Stone 4 Invisible Man 5 Fedora Satellite 6 Fire 7 Bang The Drum 8Postman Drove A Caddy 9 Wine Dark Sparks 10 The Wire 11 The B Side