You have no items in your shopping bag.

I Ain't Marching Anymore (CD)


I Ain't Marching Anymore (CD)

by Phil Ochs

Usually dispatched
within 24 hours


Phil Ochs' Second Album. Dispensing with second guitarist Danny Kalb, Ochs performs alone on twelve original songs, an interpretation of Alfred Noyes' "The Highwayman" set to music (much as Poe's "The Bells" had been set to music on the previous album) and a cover of Ewan MacColl's "The Ballad of the Carpenter". 

Philip David Ochs was an American protest singer and songwriter who was known for his sharp wit, sardonic humor, earnest humanism, political activism, insightful and alliterative lyrics, and distinctive voice. He wrote hundreds of songs in the 1960s and 1970s and released eight albums. Ochs performed at many political events during the 1960s counterculture era, including anti-Vietnam War and civil rights rallies, student events, and organized labor events over the course of his career, in addition to many concert appearances at such venues as New York City's Town Hall and Carnegie Hall. Politically, Ochs described himself as a "left social democrat"[1] who became an "early revolutionary" after the protests at the 1968 Democratic National Convention in Chicago led to a police riot, which had a profound effect on his state of mind. After years of prolific writing in the 1960s, Ochs's mental stability declined in the 1970s. He eventually succumbed to a number of problems including bipolar disorder and alcoholism, and committed suicide in 1976. Some of Ochs's major musical influences were Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Buddy Holly, Elvis Presley, Bob Gibson, Faron Young, and Merle Haggard. His best-known songs include "I Ain't Marching Anymore", "Changes", "Crucifixion", "Draft Dodger Rag", "Love Me, I'm a Liberal", "Outside of a Small Circle of Friends", "Power and the Glory", "There but for Fortune", and "The War Is Over". 

1.  I Ain't Marching Anymore  Phil Ochs 

  2.  In The Heat Of The Summer  Phil Ochs 

  3.  Draft Dodger Rag  Phil Ochs 

  4.  That's What I Want To Hear  Phil Ochs 

  5.  That Was The President  Phil Ochs 

  6.  Iron Lady  Phil Ochs 

  7.  The Highwayman  Phil Ochs 

  8.  Links On The Chain  Phil Ochs 

  9.  Hills Of West Virginia  Phil Ochs 

  10.  The Men Behind The Guns  Phil Ochs 

  11.  Talking Birmingham Jam  Phil Ochs 

  12.  Ballad Of The Carpenter  Phil Ochs 

  13.  Days Of Decision  Phil Ochs 

  14.  Here's To The State Of Mississippi  Phil Ochs 

  15.  I Ain't Marching Anymore (Alternate Version)  Phil Ochs